Lean HE Europe

Welcome to Lean HE Europe

Our community welcomes lean and continuous improvement practitioners employed in higher education / university sector across Europe.

As a European community of practice we aim to promote continuous improvement philosophies in higher education through networking, sharing best practice and supporting our networks conference series.

Our goals are to:

  • Promote Lean and improvement activities and their impact across the European Continental Division, highlighting good practice and collaboration

  • Build the network through identification and engagement of other European countries and universities not currently involved in Lean HE

  • Support local networks by providing guidance and support to help build and expand existing networks within the division.

Lean in HE Europe is governed by a steering committee comprising a Chair, Deputy Chair and the leads of our multiple regional and national groups.

Each regional / national group seeks to build communities aligned to the principles of the overarching global network, providing opportunities to learn, share and develop continuous improvement capabilities

Who are we?

Chair

John Hogg – University of Strathclyde

john.hogg@strath.ac.uk

Steering group members and Network leads

Egypt

Mohamed Ibrahim - American University in Cairo

mohamed-ibrahim@aucegypt.edu

France

Maud Castells – University of Bordeaux

maud.castells@u-bordeaux.fr

Diane Husson – University of Bordeaux

diane.husson@u-bordeaux.fr

Ireland

Michael Sinnott - University College Dublin

michael.sinnott@ucd.ie


Netherlands and Belgium

Carien van Horne - Saxion University of Applied Sciences

c.h.m.vanhorne@saxion.nl

Nordic

Svein Are Tjeldnes Europe Deputy chair

svein.are.tjeldnes@uit.no

Poland

Justyna Maciag - Jagiellonian University in Cracow

justyna.maciag@uj.edu.pl

UK

England (South)

Debbie Brooke - University of Essex

debbie@essex.ac.uk

Angus Brown - Imperial College London

a.brown@imperial.ac.uk


England (North)

Linda Spinks - University of Cambridge

linda.spinks@admin.cam.ac.uk

Scotland

Marion Malcolm - University of Aberdeen

marion.malcolm@abdn.ac.uk

How to get involved:

The are many ways you can participate in our European communities.

  • Join the global linkedin group

  • Follow us on twitter @LeanHEEurope

  • Tag us at #LeanHEEurope

  • Participate in our hosted networking events

  • Reach out to your nearest network leads

  • Present your improvement stories at a future Lean in HE conference

  • Support the networks by joining a steering committee

  • Set up a new regional or national community – with support and guidance from the steering committee.


Newsletter:

Newsletter 4: April 2022

Newsletter 3: November 2021

Newsletter 2: June 2021

Newsletter 1: April 2021


Previous events:

A list of previous events and news for the Lean HE Europe contiental devision can be found on our archives page: